# **Student Guild of Curtin University**

CURTIN Student Guild

53<sup>rd</sup> Guild Council – Meeting #8

To be held at 5.30PM on Thursday 28th of July 2022

# AGENDA

# 1. Acknowledgement of the Traditional Owners

"The Curtin Student Guild would like to pay our respect to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander members of our community by acknowledging the traditional owners of the land on which the Bentley Campus is located, the Wadjuk people of the Nyungar Nation; and on our Kalgoorlie Campus, the Wongutha people of the North-Eastern Goldfields. We acknowledge and respect their continuing culture and the contribution they make to the life of this university, city and this region."

- 2. Attendance
  - 2.1. Members Present;
  - 2.2. Others Present;
  - 2.3. Apologies and Leave of Absence;
  - 2.4. Absent;
- 3. Disclosure of any potential or perceived Conflicts of Interest
- 4. Minutes of the Previous Meeting and Circular Resolutions
  - 4.1. Previous Meeting Minutes

Motion: That the Guild Council approves the minutes of the previous meeting held on the 23/06/2022 as a true and accurate record of proceedings at that meeting.

Moved: Theodora Rohl (Secretary) Seconded:

4.2. Circular Resolution – Jasmyne Tweed for Acting President
RESOLVED GC CR#4/22
Motion: that Jasmyne Tweed be appointed to the role of Acting President for 21/7/22 and 22/7/22.
Moved: Dylan Botica
Seconded: Theodora Rohl
Carried

- 5. Reports
  - 5.1. President Submitted
  - 5.2. Vice President Education Submitted
  - 5.3. Vice President Activities Submitted
  - 5.4. Secretary Submitted
  - 5.5. Managing Director Submitted

Motion: That the Guild Council approves the reports.

Moved: Theodora Rohl (Secretary) Seconded:

### 6.1. Safety Report

Action: That the Guild Council discussed the Safety Report.

Motion: That the Guild Council notes the Safety Report.

Moved: Dylan Botica Seconded: Theo Rohl

#### 6.2. SSAF Project "Outlet Refurbishment" Revision

Motion: That, upon the recommendation of the SSAFEAC Committee, the Guild Council recommends to the Guild President that they approve the proposed revised expenditure on the Student Guild SSAF Project 'Outlet Refurbishment' for 2022 as per the table below. The total amount is unchanged.

Moved: Dylan Botica Seconded: Theo Rohl

6.3. Reappointment of External Member for the Finance and Risk Committee

Motion: That the Guild approves the appointment of Mr Kenny Lye to an additional term (of two-years) as an external member of the Finance and Risk Committee – the term commencing on 1 January 2023 and ending 31 December 2024.

Moved: Theo Rohl (Secretary) Seconded: Dylan Botica (President)

#### 6.4. Appointment to the Postgraduate Student Committee

Motion: That the Guild Council ratify the appointment of Ashok Radhakrishnan as PSC Secretary.

Moved: Theodora Rohl (Secretary) Seconded:

#### 6.5. Clarification of Appointment of President and Secretary

That Guild Council:

- Notes that Theo Rohl has indicated that she is unable/unwilling to perform the role of President for the remainder of her term.
- Grants leave to Theo Rohl (for the remainder of her term in the role of President)
- Notes the additional explanation with regard to the regulations and by-laws regarding the appointment of Theodora Rohl as Secretary and confirms this appointment.
- Notes the additional explanation with regard to the regulations and by-laws regarding the appointment of Dylan Botica to the role of President and confirms this appointment (as Acting President).

Moved: Theodora Rohl Seconded: Dylan Botica

#### 6.6. Establishing Operations Committee

- Activities Committee Constitution
- Commercial Operations Constitution
- Clubs and Societies Constitution
- Employee Consultative Committee Constitution
- Women Equity Collective Constitution
- First Nations Equity Collective Constitution
- Queer Equity Collective Constitution
- Accessibility Equity Collective Constitution
- Student Housing Advisory Committee Constitution
- First Year Committee Constitution

And establish:

• Operations Committee Constitution

Moved: Dylan Botica Seconded: Theodora Rohl

#### 6.7. National Union of Students (NUS) Affiliation Fee

That the Guild Council approve a NUS affiliation fee of \$30,000 as recommended by the Representation Board.

Moved: Jasmyne Tweed Seconded:

- 7. Minutes of Committees Reporting to the Guild Council
  - 7.1. Representation Board Meeting held on 16/05/2022
  - 7.2. Executive Committee Nil
  - 7.3. Finance and Risk Committee Meeting held on11/05/2022
  - 7.4. Activities Committee Meeting held on 21/06/2022
  - 7.5. Commercial Services Committee Nil
  - 7.6. Legal Committee Nil

Motion: That the Guild Council notes the minutes of the boards and committees en bloc.

Moved: Theodora Rohl (Secretary) Seconded:

- 8. General Business
- 9. Next Meeting

The next ordinary meeting of the Guild Council is Thursday, 25th of August at 5:30PM to be held at Council Chambers. Documents and motions are to be submitted no later than 4:30PM on Thursday 18th of August to secretary@guild.curtin.edu.au



# Membership Category & Name of Member

	Dylan Botica
(b)	Secretary; Theodora Rohl Elected as Secretary, 23.06.2022 – 30.11.2022. Pursuant to Regulation 29(4) of the Student Guild (Guild Council Regulations 2018.
(c)	Vice President - Education; Madison Ainsworth
(d)	Vice President - Activities; February Metcalf
(e)	Chair of Representation Board; Jasmyne Tweed Elected as Chair of Representation Board, 1.12.2020 – 30.11.2021. Pursuant to Regulation 4(2)(f) and 18 of the Student Guild (Guild Council) Regulations 2018.
(f)	Chair of Guild Council; Yie Xin Cheong
(g)	Deputy Chair of Guild Council; Hameed Mohammad
(h)	Guild Councillors (term ending November 2023) Sophie Scott Yie Xin Cheong (Appointed as Chair) Hameed Mohammad (Appointed as Deputy) Athina Hilman Adam Reader Cassidy Pemberton
(i)	Guild Councillors (term ending November 2022) Theodora Rohl (Appointed as Secretary) February Rachel Taylor Joshua Cooper Dylan Botica Harry Brooking

## Standing Invite Category & Name of Invite

(a) Immediate Past President; Jesse Naylor Zambrano	
(b) Manager Director; David Luketina	
(c) Minute Secretary Maryanne Shaddick	